Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

You Get The First 78 Seconds Of Cat Power's New Album

It's been nearly six years since Cat Power, a.k.a. Chan Marshall, released a new album. Now, we've got news — Wanderer will come out Oct. 5 — but not a whole lot else to share.

A single won't be released until August, though Cat Power did give us a teaser video, which contains Wanderer's entire title track. The bad news: It's only 78 seconds long. The good news: "Wanderer" is a spectral and transporting tone-setter, as brief as it is gorgeous.

"The course my life has taken in this journey — going from town to town, with my guitar, telling my tale; with reverence to the people who did this generations before me," Marshall writes in a press statement. "Folksingers, blues singers and everything in between. They were all wanderers, and I am lucky to be among them."

Wanderercomes out Oct. 5 via Domino. it will begin in September.

Wanderertrack list:

1. Wanderer

2. In Your Face

3. You Get

4. Woman (feat. Lana Del Rey)

5. Horizon

6. Stay

7. Black

8. Robbin Hood

9. Nothing Really Matters

10. Me Voy

11. Wanderer/Exit

Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit

Stephen Thompson is a writer, editor and reviewer for NPR Music, where he speaks into any microphone that will have him and appears as a frequent panelist on All Songs Considered. Since 2010, Thompson has been a fixture on the NPR roundtable podcast Pop Culture Happy Hour, which he created and developed with NPR correspondent Linda Holmes. In 2008, he and Bob Boilen created the NPR Music video series Tiny Desk Concerts, in which musicians perform at Boilen's desk. (To be more specific, Thompson had the idea, which took seconds, while Boilen created the series, which took years. Thompson will insist upon equal billing until the day he dies.)