The Impact Of Two-Year Campuses Joining UW-Milwaukee’s Four-Year Campus

Nov 22, 2018

The higher education system in Wisconsin underwent a major change this year, as the University of Wisconsin System assigned the 13 separate two-year campuses spread across the state to one of the four-year UW campuses located nearby. Here in Southeastern Wisconsin, that meant the UW-Waukesha campus and the UW-Washington County campus joined UW-Milwaukee. It is a move affecting thousands of students in the area.  

What will be the impact on students in Waukesha and Washington counties and how will it affect the businesses that often hire graduates from the two schools? We’ll answer those questions and more on this edition of UWM Today. Joining us in the studio are Stephen Schmid, the interim dean of the Waukesha and Washington county campuses; Ellyn Lem, professor of English at what is now known as UWM at Waukesha; and Tricia Wessel-Blaski, associate professor of psychology-education at UWM at Washington County.