Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Letter Asks 31 Wisconsin School Districts to Drop "Indian" Mascots

The Wisconsin Indian Education Association asks schools to change their "Indian" team names and logos, "out of respect for Wisconsin Native nations."

WIEA President Brian Jackson says the group is issuing the request in the wake of Act 115. It's the new Wisconsin law, adding a step for challenging mascot names. Beforehand, one individual could force the Dept. of Public Instruction to review a name the person found offensive. Under the new law, a complainant must collect a certain number of signatures in the school district, equal to a percent of enrollment, and then the Dept. of Administration would review the complaint.

According to the WIEA, the Wisconsin high schools still using Native branding:

High School                                    Team Nickname

Auburndale                                               Apaches

Baldwin-Woodville                                Blackhawks

Belmont                                                      Braves

Berlin                                                           Indians

Big Foot/Walworth                                   Chiefs

Black Hawk/South Wayne                    Warriors

Cornell                                                         Chiefs

Elmwood                                                    Raiders

Fort Atkinson                                          Blackhawks

Greenwood                                                Indians

Kewaskum                                                  Indians

Lake Holcombe                                       Chieftains

Lancaster                                             Flying Arrows

Menomonee Falls                                  Indians

Mishicot                                                    Indians

Mosinee                                                     Indians

Mukwonago                                             Indians

Muskego                                                  Warriors

Osceola                                                      Chieftains

Ozaukee/Fredonia                                Warriors

Potosi                                                         Chieftains

Prairie du Chien                                   Blackhawks

Rib Lake                                                     Redmen

Riverdale/Muscoda                            Chieftains

Seneca                                                         Indians

Shiocton                                                    Chiefs

Stockbridge                                            Indians

Tomahawk                                               Hatchets

Waunakee                                                 Warriors

Weyauwega-Fremont                          Indians

Wisconsin Dells                                     Chiefs