Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Ryan, Baldwin, Johnson will Serve on Budget Compromise Committee

Wisconsin Rep. Paul Ryan will be co-chair and Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D) and Ron Johnson (R) members of the bipartisan panel.

It's charged with handing Congress a budget compromise by Dec. 13.

Congress formed the conference panel, as part of the deal Wednesday to end the stalemate that had shut down the federal government and put the country as risk of default. Leaders have given themselves until early next year to agree on a more permanent fix for the country's financial challenges.

Republicans Johnson and Ryan voted against the deal, Democrat Baldwin voted in favor of the temporary fix. All serve on their respective chambers' budget committees.

The only member of Wisconsin's congressional delegation to cross party lines Wednesday was GOP Rep. Reid Ribble. He says he opposes parts of the deal but wants to give elected leaders more time to settle their differences.