Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Voters Cast Ballots in Primary Elections Across Wisconsin

UPDATE: Voters chose Duey Stroebel (GOP Senate #20), Eddie Cullen and Nicholas Hunt (Milw. Sup. #15), Paul Farrow and Thomas Schellinger (Waukesha Co. Exec.)

Tuesday is primary election day in Wisconsin. The top two vote-getters in each non-partisan primary will advance to the April 7 General Election.

In Milwaukee, three candidates are running for County Board supervisor in District 15. The local race is non-partisan. Incumbent David Cullen was elected Milwaukee County Treasurer in November. The candidates vying to succeed him:

  • Eddie Cullen
  • Nicholas Hunt
  • Jason Wilke

Another non-partisan primary is underway in Waukesha County, to succeeding retiring County Executive Dan Vrakas. The four candidates are:

  • Paul Farrow
  • Kim Wentz
  • Thomas Schellinger
  • Larry Barthen

Republican voters in parts of Dodge, Ozaukee and Washington counties are casting ballots for state Senate to replace Glenn Grothman, now a member of Congress. The winner of today's primary will likely go on to the state Legislature, since there is no opposition in the April election. The state Senate District 20 Republican candidates are:

  • Tiffany Koehler
  • Duey Stroebel
  • Lee Schlenvogt
Marti was a reporter with WUWM from 1999 to 2021.