Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Walker Declares State of Emergency in 7 Waterlogged Counties

Gov. Walker issued the declaration after touring flooded areas on Wednesday.

He says the flood damage “has the full attention and resources of the State.”

The emergency declaration is in place in Ashland, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Richland, St. Croix, and Vernon counties.

The governor directed the National Guard and other agencies to assist, in a number of ways, including:

  • The Department of Administration will make emergency assistance funds available to eligible homeowners, while the Office of Commissioner of Insurance will help property owners filing claims
  • The Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection will work with farmers who have crop damage or who need shelter for their livestock
  • The Department of Natural Resources will provide assistance for residents and local governments concerned about well contamination
  • The Department of Transportation will make funds available for local infrastructure repair
Ann-Elise Henzl became News Director in September 2017.