Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Milwaukee County Supervisor Stamper to Join Common Council


Supervisor Russell Stamper II was elected Tuesday to represent Milwaukee’s 15th aldermanic district.

A special election was held to fill the seat, which former Common Council president Willie Hines vacated in February, to take a job with the city’s housing authority.

Stamper and former county supervisor EyonBiddle, Sr. were the two survivors of a five-way primary earlier this month. Biddle ran for alderman previously. He stepped down from his job on the County Board in 2012, in an attempt to oust Hines.

Stamper has been a county supervisor since April 2012, representing the 5th district, which includes the Sherman Park and Martin Drive neighborhoods, in addition to portions of downtown and the Third Ward.

Stamper is a lifelong Sherman Park resident, who previously worked for the Social Development Commission and New Concept Self Development Center.

Ann-Elise Henzl became News Director in September 2017.
Related Content